50/50 Gender Equality Target Achieved at Next Week’s Ruisrock Festival

Ruisrock has signed up to the Keychange pledge, which pushes the music industry toward a more equal gender balance. The primary goal of the initiative is to address the underrepresentation of women and non-binary people in the industry. The festivals that have signed up to the pledge agree to increase the share of women or non-binary performers in their programs to reach the 50/50 target by 2022, but Ruisrock will achieve the target already this year.

“Our line-up this year offers a magnificent range of performers who represent a colorful mix of genders, languages, and cultures, and 50% of the acts featured at the festival include women or non-binary people. Equality is one of the fundamental values that we wish to promote and we will continue to advocate strongly for equality also in the future,” says Promoter Mikko Niemelä.

Led by PRS Foundation from the UK, the initiative involves some of the biggest music organizations and festivals in Europe that want to promote equality. Ruisrock is proud to be a part of this work.

Ruisrock will be held the weekend after this, from 5–7 July in Ruissalo, already for the fiftieth time.

Friday 5.7.2019

Ellie Goulding (UK), Beatrice Eli (SE), Brockhampton (US), JPEGMAFIA (US), Diplo (US), Future (US), Megan thee Stallion (US), Rita Ora (UK), Alma, Elastinen, Cavallini & Shrty, D.R.E.A.M.G.I.R.L.S., Elias Gould, Evelina, Gettomasa, Huora, Ibe, Ida Paul & Kalle Lindroth, Katakombi Supershow, Lac Belot, Malka, Pastoripike, Pikku G, Reino Nordin, Ricky-Tick Big Band & Julkinen Sana, Rosita Luu, Sini Yasemin, Vaxinator, Vilma Alina, Anne Lainto & Ida Karimaa (YleX)

Saturday 6.7.2019

Dimitri Vegas & Like Mike (BE/GR), Empire of the Sun (AU), Lil Halima (NO), Lil Skies (US), Lykke Li (SE), 1975 (UK), JVG, Ville Valo & Agents, Robin Packalen, ABREU, Anna Puu, Chisu, Ellinoora, Gasellit, Olavi Uusivirta, Pauliina Kokkonen, Pyhimys, Ruusut, Vesala, Vesta, Adi L Hasla, Adikia, Aste, Coochilla, Ellips, Jesse Markin, Maustetytöt, Melo, Nicole Willis & Banda Palomita, Pää Kii, SOFA, STEREO, Tavastian Lauantaidisko & All Stars Ystävät, Anne Lainto & Ida Karimaa (YleX)

Sunday 7.7.2019

Travis Scott (US), Bad Bunny (PR), Doja Cat (US), J Balvin (CO), Marina (UK), MØ (DK), Nilüfer Yanya (UK), Sigrid (NO), Troye Sivan (AU), Apulanta, J. Karjalainen, Pariisin Kevät, Pyhimys & Saimaa, Sanni, Aavikko, Cledos, costee, Etta, jori sjöroos, Kalpeat Varjot, Lukas Leon, New Ro, The Holy, Yona & Lumos, Younghearted, Anne Lainto & Ida Karimaa (YleX)